Paganism and Catholicism

Posted: March 25, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Paganism and Catholicism

Author: Professor Walter J. Veith, PhD
Publish date: Feb 16, 2009
Summary: Many Roman Catholic practices are not based on Scripture or even on the life of Christ, but rather on ancient pagan doctrines.

 

 
This article is part of a series. We recommend that you first read: Identifying the Antichrist.

The Catholic Church makes tradition above or equal to Scripture, but in actuality many of its traditions actually stem from pagan sun worship. Its teachings, beliefs and practices come from Mithraism—a form of paganism that existed in Babylonian times.

These pagan practices are symbols of apostasy against God. Of this, the Twentieth Century Encyclopedia of Catholicism says the following:

The missionary history of the [Catholic] Church clearly shows her adaptability to all races, all continents, all nations. In her liturgy and her art, in her tradition and the forming of her doctrine, naturally enough she includes Jewish elements, but also elements that are of pagan origin. In certain respects, she has copied her organization from that of the Roman Empire, has preserved and made fruitful the philosophical intuitions of Socrates, Plato and Aristotle, borrowed from both Barbarians and the Byzantine Roman Empire—but always remains herself, thoroughly digesting all elements drawn from external sources…In her laws, her ceremonies, her festivals and her devotions, she makes use of local customs after purifying them and “baptizing” them.

In the Antichrist Identified section, we discussed how the four beasts of Daniel 7, representing the four successive world powers, took the religious rites and ceremonies from each preceding kingdom as it fell, so that Babylonian traditions continued through the ages. Rome, the final kingdom, still clings to these pagan traditions today.

The Papacy claims that its system of worship has been handed down through tradition. They are absolutely correct. But these are not the teachings of Jesus, but rather the traditions of Babylon.

Roman Catholic doctrines such as infant baptism, sprinkling during baptism, teachings on death and immortality, tonsured and celibate priests with power over the dead, prayers to the dead and to relics,repetitive prayers with the use of beads, doctrines on forgiveness of sins, teachings on hell, the mass, andSunday worship are doctrines actually derived directly from ancient Babylon, not the Bible.

When Constantine married paganism and Christianity, the door was opened for false doctrines to creep into the early Christian Church, and they were gradually introduced into the system. The Church became divided into the Catholic Church who accepted the pagan doctrines, and the true Christian Church who resisted Constantine’s indoctrination.

Like the successive strata of the earth covering one another, so layer after layer of forgeries and fabrications was piled up in the Church.i

The church historian Philip Schaff says, “No church or sect in Christendom ever sank so low as the Latin church in the tenth century.”ii

Many of Rome’s documents used to validate its authority and origin have been established as fakes. These unusable sources include The Donation of Constantine, which claim to establish the papal domain and jurisdiction, and The Decretals of Isidore, which were touted as establishing pontifical supremacy. According to J. A. Wylie’s book The History of Protestantism, the Greeks reproachfully named the fledgling Roman Church as “the native home of inventions and falsifications of documents.”iii These forgeries, nevertheless, succeeded in establishing Catholic doctrines.

Read about paganism within Catholic doctrine:

 

mithra
Sun worship, an ancient practice across the globe, has been maintained in the traditions of Roman Catholicism.
 
The image of Mary standing in a crescent moon. She is surrounded by 12 stars in
Catholicism has declared Mary the sinless queen of heaven. This is not Biblical doctrine, but instead reflects pagan goddess worship.
 
mass sun wafer
Mass, one of the key traditions in Roman Catholicism, has components of sun worship rather than Christ-worship.
 
Source: Wikimedia Commons.
The Church needs leaders, and Scripture is clear about the nature of godly leadership. Unfortunately, Catholicism has chosen pagan practices over Biblical truth when it comes to the priesthood.
 
Painting of Saint Peter by Peter Paul Rubens
When Jesus said, “That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church,” He was referring to Peter’s confession about Christ – not Peter himself.
 
The sun chariot of Sûrya. Indian miniature painting. Mewar school, eighteenth c
Some pagan feasts and rituals have been kept alive in the form of Catholic holidays.
 
The papal title Pontifex Maximus on the floor in St. Peter's basilica in the Vat
The title Pontifex Maximus began as a name for ancient pagan rulers, but has since been adopted by the Papacy.
 
Source:Flickr.
Sports, card games, and even the way we organize our calendar all stem from ancient pagan rites.
 
Hindu deity with mantra beads.Source: Chocolate Media Online.
Catholicism can be compared to the paganism in other religions, and similarities are noticeable.
Comments
  1. Jami says:

    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

    Like

  2. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog
    with my zynga group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    Like

    • SURE YOU CAN SHARE THEM THATS THE WHOLE POINT. THE BIBLE SAYS Revelation 14:6-12
      King James Version (KJV)
      6 And I saw another angel fly in the midst of heaven, having the everlasting gospel to preach unto them that dwell on the earth, and to every nation, and kindred, and tongue, and people,

      7 Saying with a loud voice, Fear God, and give glory to him; for the hour of his judgment is come: and worship him that made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and the fountains of waters.

      Like

  3. Hi there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. With
    thanks!

    Like

  4. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

    Like

    • I know don’t use Explorer WordPress is not compatible with Explorer I don’t know why but just keep using FireFox. And thanks I’m glad you are enjoying the blogs may the lord bless you my friend.

      Like

  5. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however ,
    I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe
    we could greatly benefit from each other. If you happen to be interested
    feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Great blog by the way!

    Like

  6. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    Like

  7. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or
    did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. many thanks

    Like

  8. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. Alan says:

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost
    all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.

    Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome site!

    Like

  10. Hello there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m
    trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Thank you!

    Like

  11. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    Like

  12. My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on a number of websites for about a year and am worried about switching
    to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any kind of help would be greatly appreciated!

    Like

  13. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic.
    I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like
    what you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still take care
    of to keep it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    This is actually a terrific website.

    Like

Leave a Reply

